A tradition of empowering communities throughout our State

Formerly known as the South Carolina Mayors’ Institute for Community Design and relaunched in 2018, the Riley Mayors’ Design Fellowship was founded in 1999. The Fellowship is modeled after the National Mayors’ Institute on City Design founded in 1986 by former Charleston Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Currently, South Carolina is the only state to have such a program.



Class of 2019



Brandy Hart Amidon

Mayor of Travelers Rest, SC



Mayor Corrin F. Bowers III

Corrin F. Bowers III

Mayor of Estill, SC





Michael C. Butler

Mayor of Orangeburg, SC



mayor gettys (1)


John P. Gettys, Jr.

City of Rock Hill, SC





Carl Melvin Pennington

Mayor of Hartsville, SC





Rosa Lee Privette

Mayor of Patrick, SC



B Sanders Headshot


Richard Blake Sanders

Mayor of West Pelzer, SC




Harry Williams

Mayor of Hardeeville, SC




riley mayors